Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
East Bernstadt Independent School

EBIS recognized by KDE as one of 15 districts for District of Distinction!

EBIS superintendent, Vicki Jones, and board chairman, Gene Allen, receive the award for District of Distinction

[Pictured left to right:  Stephen Pruitt (Commissioner of Education), Gene Allen (EBIS Board Chairman),
Vicki Jones (EBIS Superintendent) and William Twyman (Chairman of the Kentucky State Board of Education)]

KDE Logo


No. 17-017                                                          Feb. 8, 2017

MEDIA CONTACT: Nancy Rodriguez
Office: (502) 564-2000, ext. 4610 | Cell: (502) 330-5063
E-mail: nancy.rodriguez@education.ky.gov


(FRANKFORT, Ky.) – The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and the Kentucky
of Education recognized 16 school districts as Districts of Distinction at
the board’s meeting today.

The districts earned the recognition under the Unbridled Learning: College and
Career Readiness for All accountability system. To qualify, a district must have
an overall accountability score at the 95th percentile or higher (based on
achievement, gap, growth, college and career readiness, graduation rate and
program reviews), meet its current year Annual Measurable Objective, have at
least a 95 percent participation rate in statewide assessments and not have a Focus
or Priority School. The achievement data is based on K-PREP testing in spring 2016.

The Districts of Distinction for the 2015-16 school year are:

  • Anchorage Independent
  • Ballard County
  • Beechwood Independent
  • Calloway County
  • Carter County
  • Corbin Independent
  • Cumberland County
  • East Bernstadt Independent
  • Floyd County
  • LaRue County
  • Lee County
  • Murray Independent
  • Oldham County
  • Paintsville Independent
  • Rockcastle County
  • Taylor County

In addition, Taylor County was recognized as a High Progress District, which means
it is in the top 10 percent of improvement compared to other districts in the state.

Earlier this year, each district received a recognition banner and a letter of
commendation, along with a District of Distinction logo that can be used to promote
its accomplishment.




Back to School News      Print News Article